Blog

Aciro Nighty – In her own words

Sometimes it’s best when people tell their own stories. Check out Aciro Nighty’s story below.

Hello my name is Aciro Nighty, I am 38 year old women with three children under the age of fifteen. Currently I am separated from my husband so I am the sole [provider] for my children. My children and I live in a hut in small community in the North East district of Gulu.
Aciro Nighty 2
I own a small restaurant business in Pece Vanguard and applied to Kleos Uganda for a loan to improve the roof of my restaurant. In the past I was using plastic bags for my roof top which made work very hard, especially during rainy season. This caused me to lose business as I was unable to attend to the costumers and prevent rain from coming into the restaurant at the same time.

Thankfully Kleos gave me a 500,000 shilling loan. I used the loan to reroof my restaurant with iron sheets. Since then I have been able to operate my restaurant as any other business would, allowing me to serve more costumers and make more money to better support my family and put my children through school.

Before Kleos Uganda I had never taken out a loan before because the banks’ charge high interest rates for their loans and demand collateral as security, which I do not have. I learned about Kleos Uganda from a friend and I decided to join because of the good loan program they have for vulnerable people like me.
The training I got from Kleos Uganda has helped me to have a better perspective of my business and because of that I am doing so many things differently which has made my business grow bigger than it used to be. For example; I used to cook a small amount of food but now I cook a variety of food which attracts more customers and brings new people to my restaurant every day.Aciro Nighty pic (1)

Kleos Uganda loan is very good for me because they are not after making any profits but their main aim is to truly help the needy. I remember when I was repayment my first loan cycle, I [fell] very sick and I could not work but when I talked to my Loan Administrator about my condition, he accepted and gave me time to recovery and get back to work before resuming my repayment. This does not happen with other lending institutions. Also the interest rate and repayment period is very favorable; it has been easy for me to payments needs to support my group members.

Right now I want to finish paying back this loan fast so that I can apply for a 3rd cycle because I want to buy some produce and start a produce business alongside my restaurant for extra income. All my children are at school and I need to have more money so that I can be able to pay for their school fees at a higher level of education.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

Bitnami