Blog

Orama Jennifer; A Single Mother’s Success Story

Hi, my name is Oroma Jennifer, and I am 46 years old. I am a single parent and a mother to four, one boy and three girls. One girl has just joined University and the boy is in University doing his final year. One girl got married and the last born is in grade seven. I live in a two grass thatched house in a village called Ariaga, about 1.5 kms from Gulu Town in northern Uganda.

I deal in ladies shoes at Gulu main market, which is the only source of income for me and my family at the moment, and I have managed this for six years now.

I heard about Kleos Uganda in 2017 from a friend who has been a beneficiary of Kleos for a long time. Because of the favorable loan policies of Kleos Uganda, I decided to join the program in the group called “Rwot Lakica” (Meaning the Lord is Merciful).

Because of being involved in the Kleos Uganda program, my life has greatly changed. I used to have a capital of 300,000 SHS, but now my capital has increased to 700,000 SHS, making it possible for me to pay school fees for my children. I am now am in my third cycle of the loan that is 400,000 SHS, which I use part of it to pay school fees and then a small part of the money I inject into the business.

The business skills and training I got from Kleos Uganda has helped me to manage my business well, however, there are some challenges I face that are:
• Family responsibilities as a single parent
• Renting the two grass thatched houses
• Medical care

My future plan is to expand my business with the help from Kleos Uganda, buy a piece of land and build a future for my children.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

Bitnami